What Happened to Downtime?

What Happened to Downtime? The Extinction of Deep Thinking & Sacred Space

5. Protect the state of no-intent.

When you’re rushing to a solution, your mind will jump to the easiest and most familiar path. But when you allow yourself to just look out the window for 10 minutes – and ponder – your brain will start working in a more creative way. It will grasp ideas from unexpected places. It’s this very sort of unconscious creativity that leads to great thinking. When you’re driving or showering, you’re letting your mind wander because you don’t have to focus on anything in particular. If you do carve out some time for unobstructed thinking, be sure to free yourself from any specific intent.

I love this article and have been really challenged by it. I've been noticing that I have just been giving myself time to think while driving lately instead of packing in all the usual podcasts and audiobooks. For me, the thinking time in the shower often helps me identify areas of worry and idols in my life. I'm praying that God will help me use that time to think about His goodness to me more.

One thought on “What Happened to Downtime?

  1. Rings really true for me. Some of my best thinking happens in the shower. I too want to to be more prayerful about my non-intent times. Not just leave them to “que sera sera,” but ask God to use them to show me his thoughts. Those are the best (Proverbs 3:5-6).

Leave a Reply

