25 of My Favorite Christmas Songs

A few days ago I noticed that Casey Liss had posted a few of his favorite Christmas albums, so I thought I’d do a list of some of my Christmas favorites. Most of them I could find on Spotify, but a few are from some rather obscure Christmas samplers when I was in high school. There are basically 3 albums that I rituallistically listen to at this time of year:

  1. Michael W. Smith’s Christmas – it’s like Coca-Cola Classic. Can’t beat the real thing
  2. Mannheim Steamroller’s A Fresh Aire ChristmasCarol of the Bells has a reggae breakdown in it – can it get better than that?
  3. George Winston’s December – this is really the only piano-based album I love and I think a huge reason is because of the nostalgia. Coming in from working outside on the farm to this playing on a Saturday just felt so cozy.

These are basically presented in no particular order, with a few exceptions:

  • I started the playlist off with “Come Thou Long Expected Jesus”. I love the way he yells it 3:19. Amen. So much longing and a great way to start the Christmas season – longing for His coming.
  • I ended it with some purpose too:
    • the gospel being presented in A Stick, A Carrot & String (“And the snake who’d held the world, a stick, a carrot and a string, was crushed beneath the foot of you’re not wanting anything.”). I almost always end up with misty eyes when listening to this song
    • This is War gives such a different view of what the birth of Christ was about than what we’re used to thinking of.
    • All Glory Be To Christ is to the tune of Auld Lang Syne and a great way to start off a new day/week/year
    • Evermore is just a great reminder that when Spotify is gone and I am dead and this blog is gone and this life is over, He will still be reigning.

Non-Spotify Tracks

All Alone on Christmas – Darlene Love

To me, the only real version of this song is this one, from the Home Alone 2 soundtrack. All other versions are trash.

Mele Kalikimaka – One Eighty / Flight One Eighty

When I was in Jr. High & High School I was so in love with Hawaii. Naturally this became a favorite.

O, Holy Night – Seven Day Jesus

You’ve gotta have O, Holy Night right? This is my favorite version, it’s humble, just like His birth

Jesu Bambino – Plankeye

I don’t know what it is about this song (probably the guitar in the verses), but I love it.

Mookie’s Last Christmas – Saosin

This is the most unconventional song on the list, and easily one of my favorite Christmas songs. I don’t know about 90% of the lyrics, but it just hits the spot.

Leave a Reply

