How to Turn Off the Noise Canceling Microphone on iOS 7

One of the tiny but obnoxious things for me about the iPhone has been the noise-canceling microphone. As a recovering audiophile and overall picky person, I’ve always dreaded answering a call on my iPhone while in the car. I can remember the first time I talked on my phone while driving where I was. I felt so nauseous that I thought I was coming down with food poisoning. However, when I wrapped up the phone call and took the phone away from my ear, I immediately felt better. Then I realize why I felt so terrible: the iPhone was using phase-cancelation.

I’ve always hated “active noise-canceling” headphones for this same reason. They make my head spin, my ears feel like they need to pop, and have thin sound. I know people who don’t seem to be bothered by the phase-cancellation but I have always avoided them for that reason. If you’re unfamiliar with this concept, just do a simple search.

The noise-canceling mic has led me to use my Bluetooth headset almost exclusively with my iPhone. But tonight, as I was turning the Parallax effect back on, I noticed a little gem in the settings: “Phone Noise Cancelation”.

Save yourself some embarrassment

Here’s how to avoid getting nauseous if you have to use your iPhone in a loud area:

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Go to General\Accessibility\Phone Noise Cancelation
  3. Turn the switch so the green indicator goes off, as indicated in the image below.

¡Voilà! Now you can enjoy your iPhone again.

Leave a Reply

