Music Monday: The Sound of Music

A few weeks ago we were at Clamshell Beach Resort with my wife’s family. My brother-in-law and his wife have two hilarious girls, Hannah and Grace, who are apparently going through a Sound of Music obsession right now. I’ve never seen the movie (unless you count the 2 seconds I saw the second time Robbie Williams was on MTV Cribs), but I have seen the play before. That being said, I know essentially none of the music, which made me feel both a little proud and a little ashamed.

Thankfully, Hannah and Grace were able to educate me on some of the major songs due to their repeat requests to their patient parents to hear Edelweiss, Do-Re-Mi, and, of course, The Lonely Goatherd1. Hannah apparently loves these songs so much, that she will adapt their lyrics to try and sing herself to sleep when she isn’t tired enough yet. One night, as we were sitting in the living room, we started to hear over the monitor:

“Edelweiss, edelweiss, every morning you greet me. Small and white, clean and bright, you look happy to meet me.”

Which eventually became:

“Gredelweiss, Gredelweiss…”2

Anyway, Amy has been listening to it quite a bit with Jane and so therefore I’ve started to learn a few of the songs. Hope you enjoy.


  1. This might be one of the weirdest songs ever written. I would not be suprised if drugs were involved in the writing of it. 
  2. Pronounced “Grey-del-vice” as in, she was putting her sister’s name in there…very creative, Hannah. 
Leave a Reply

