Music Monday: Newsboys

As a child, I was often to immature to admit that I liked something when my older brother was actively opposed to said thing, case in point: the Newsboys. I secretly loved their album Take Me To Your Leader.

I can remember the first time I heard the Newsboys. We had a video of Christian music videos that came free with a purchase at Northwestern Bookstore. There was a promo for their song “Not Ashamed” on that video and to this day I the only part of that song I know is the part that goes:

I’m not ashamed to speak the name of Jesus Christ

 

What I could never get past with the Newsboys was their lyrics. Their lyrics were always terribly hokey; they were basically the Christian precursor to Train. Case-in-point: their hit “Shine”.

And try as you may, there isn’t a way
To explain the kind of change
That would make an Eskimo renounce fur
That would make a vegetarian barbecue hamster
Unless you can trace this about-face
To a certain sign…

 

And yet, there is something in me that couldn’t resist making a playlist of my favorite Newsboys songs on Spotify recently. One year, for her birthday, my sister received Take Me To Your Leader. I can still remember illicitly listening to that album on her Aiwa stereo with her hope, wishing, and praying that my brother would not come in and find me relishing their sugar-coated pop-rock tunes. I think my favorite song on the album might be “Breakfast”, which is weird because breakfast is generally a meal that I do not eat.

When the Big One finds you may the song remind you that they don’t serve breakfast in Hell.1


  1. Is this line theologically sound? And if it is, to me, that seems to be a vote FOR Hell, not against it. 
Leave a Reply

